Book Reviews

The DVD Killer

Kindle Customer

February 5, 2019

Format: Kindle Edition
Rita J. Spratlen

January 25, 2019

Format: Kindle Edition
Kathryn A Defranc
February 1, 2019
Format: Kindle Edition
Kindle Customer
February 1, 2019
Format: Kindle Edition
lubylu55
February 5, 2019
Format: Kindle Edition

The Secret

Clau

February 24, 2019

Format: Kindle Edition

Shirley

March 23, 2019

Format: Kindle Edition

 

Endangered Species

Amanda Dawn

July 6, 2017

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Endangered Species is a mystery novel based on, an all too real problem facing us now in the U.S., human trafficking ring. The story revolves around the disappearance of a young 16 year old girl from Arizona. The girl’s mother is told she has a sister from a previous marriage that is a well known retired homicide detective turned private investigator who she calls to help find her daughter. Brenda is the detective we follow as she investigates the suspects and pieces together the clues leading to a dramatic and jaw dropping ending.
I could not put this book down. I am writing this review after staying up all night reading this book because I could not put it down to go to bed. Human trafficking is an issue near to my heart as I work in a ministry that reaches out to ladies caught up in the sex industry. I applaud the author for realistically portraying how these girls end up in these situations and what happens in these situations. This may be a fictional work but it is the reality for millions of ladies worldwide every day. There’s no shying away from sex in this book but it is handled appropriately; the real thing is far worse than how it is portrayed here. They mystery story plot was excellently developed and executed. I like mysteries that let me follow along logically but still have some plot twists to them and this fulfilled that criteria. This is simply a five star phenomenal read for me!
The only minor criticism I could think to give this book is that I wish the author had used Brenda’s PTSD more in the book…people with PTSD usually struggle at least at times through their lives and I think it could have been used more in the story. The personalities of the characters were developed and memorable and I enjoyed them but I do have to say I didn’t find myself in love with any particular character. I did picture the main character, Brenda the detective, and her boyfriend as similar to the relationship on the TV series Castle in their relationship which brought it more to life for me. It may be perhaps that I was so drawn into the plot I missed the little details that show their character instead of telling it that make us fall in love with characters.
I loved this book though and I’m glad I picked it up. I wasn’t aware it involved human trafficking when I did pick it up as a mystery book. I can’t applaud the author for putting this information into a well written mystery story that can reach people who may not necessarily care to know about the topic or think it is a non-issue because it doesn’t happen here. Even among resources that educate people about human trafficking the particular angle this story takes is a unique one in that most people aren’t aware that girls will recruit other girls into the ring in order to get money and have a higher status than the girls they oversee. It is a page turning midnight oil reading book that you won’t be able to put down!
Lennette

October 17, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Endangered Species by Michael Altieri gives readers a glimpse into the dark world of sex trafficking. What do two murders have to do with 16 year old Madison, who has gone missing? The good citizens in the area around Phoenix, Arizona are about to find out. Madison decides to take a stranger’s offer of education, class, and five million dollars in exchange for five years of her life. She considered this to be the opportunity of a lifetime and a chance to help her family financially. All she has to do is disappear for five years; do whatever it is that she is required to do; return home at the age of 21; and not tell anyone where she has been. What could possibly happen to her? Meanwhile, two men have been found dead with their genitals mutilated and Deputy Sheriff Logan Cartwright is trying to investigate the murders. There is really not much he can do to help Madison’s family because it appears that she left on her own and he has no leads in her case. Brenda Corrino arrives from Connecticut and enters the investigation when Faith, Madison’s mother makes a call to her asking for help. How does a woman in Arizona know a private investigator in Connecticut? It turns out that Brenda and Faith are sisters but the catch is that Brenda was clueless to the fact that she even has a sister. Join Brenda; her boyfriend and fellow investigator Darren; and Sheriff Cartwright as they connect the dots to find Madison before it is too late. The best leads come from a sex swapping party where Brenda asks Faith’s friends a few questions. This story has twists and turns; romance; quite a bit of sex; and a plot that kept me reading. I came away feeling that even friends can turn out to be people capable of things that you could never imagine. The different parts of the story came together nicely and I must say that I was surprised as one lead led to another. It also made me think about the unfortunate individuals who are stuck in the sex trade and used as nothing more than a money making commodity. I recommend Endangered Species to all readers who enjoy mystery, murder, and a love story all blended in with stark reality. I must go back and read the previous works by Mr. Altieri.
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Mimi Jazman

October 23, 2017

Endangered Species by Michael Altieri is a crime-thriller-mystery book. The book revolves around the effort of Brenda trying to save find her missing niece. The plot of this book is something new and exciting, The book pace is fast but there is nothing that I would consider as incomplete; the author provides enough suspense and anticipation while the main characters unfolding the human trafficking ring.

Its been quite sometimes now since the last time I read something in this genre that has a female as the main character and I must say that Brendas character is as brave and good as any other characters.

As for the characterization, Brendas character is strong since the very beginning of the book. I like how the author provides enough backstory of Brendas life that it does make sense why her unknown sister, Faith suddenly would call and ask for her help. The other character that I really like is Dr. Darren. I feel like he is very close and understands Brenda really well. I like how the author writes Darrens character and in the same time, Brendas character didnt overshadow his.

There is only one thing that I think could be reflected better is the relationship between Brenda and Faith. They were estranged for years when suddenly Faith called for help and when Brenda went to Arizona, they suddenly become close sisters. It would be more believable if Brenda distance herself for a moment while knowing her sister better before becoming close to her.

Overall, I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is up for a gritty mystery book. It involves human trafficking ring and their dark truth.

C. Aparicio
5.0 out of 5 stars

October 10, 2017

Endangered Species by Michael Altitudes is a book in a series featuring private detective Brenda Corrino. I have not read the prior book, but I did not have any trouble following along. Absolutely one of the best books I’ve read recently. I will definitely pick up the other book as soon as I get a chance. Brenda has now become business partners with her boyfriend Darren.This book has Brenda going to Arizona to search for her missing niece, the daughter of a sister she didn’t even know she had, Faith. As Brenda is trying to find her, she questions everyone, which doesn’t go over well with some. Faith and her husband have swingers lifestyle that comes to light. As the story goes on, we realize that human trafficking is going on right here in the US. This is a book that will have you wanting to read it in one sitting, regardless of how long it takes. I hope there are more books coming in this series.
John Calabro
Endanger Species takes place in a rural Arizona town and …

July 12, 2017

Endanger Species takes place in a rural Arizona town and the surrounding park and countryside. A most provocative story in which the sister and private investigator of an Arizona resident is summoned to help find her teenage daughter. Arizona is one of the states that has a large presence and reputation of human trafficking. There are flashbacks also of past experiences that occurred in Brenda’s life back in Connecticut which relates to the investigation. Spine tingling, sex escapades, post-traumatic stress disorder, and detailed account of the characters and their lives.
I think the key points of this fictional book is Brenda’s character and her relentless search for her niece. Along the way there are sexual overtones and visions of splendor. The realization of human trafficking is most pronounced. The macabre and dangerous world of human trafficking and the possibilities of selling girls as sex slaves
After a full evaluation and consideration of this book I came to the conclusion that the full story relates mostly to the characters inner feelings of sexual fantasies. I feel this should be a book for adults who have an open mind and agenda that is not inhibited. Take time to read between the lines.
Jaime B.
Exciting book that makes you want more!

July 8, 2017

Loved this book! Within the first few pages I was hooked. The story kept wondering what was going to happen next. The main charachter, Brenda, is edgy, sexy and so smart. This story had twists and turns and I was sad when it ended!
seraphim0731
A Thriller That Grabs The Reader

June 10, 2018

Endangered Species is a thriller about the world of human trafficking. Connecticut private investigator Brenda Corrino receives a call for help from her half sister Faith Brenna asking for her help because Faiths 16 year old daughter Madison has disappeared. Initially Brenda is shocked because she didn’t know she had a sister. She quickly agrees to help and travels to Arizona to meet Faith and help with the investigation.

Brenda quickly realizes everything isn’t what it seems with the Brenna family and their group of friends. As time ticks by she gains the confidence of her sister and learns about her hidden secrets. While coordinating with the local sheriff, sharing information with him and combining their talents eventually the horrifying truth of the evil hiding in the small Arizona comes to light.

I really enjoyed this book. The story sucks you in and moves along swiftly. I found myself turning pages quickly to find out what would happen next.

The character development was good. I immediately liked Brenda who is a strong female lead. I suffered and worried for Madison and wanted to see her rescued. The villains were beyond contempt.

The book is an easy read. It took me about six hours to complete the book. The story is well developed and moves along well. I lost track of time at points because I got wrapped up in the story.

I recommend reading this book. It’s a good thriller that sheds light on the growing problem of human trafficking.

Angie Eagle Bear

October 16, 2017

Brenda Corrino is a former homicide detective turned private investigator. After her past with the DVD murderer and the attack she sustained from him, she has a thriving business with boyfriend Dr. Crowe. Upon receiving a call from a sister she never knew she had, she goes to Arizona to help locate her niece Madison. She befriends the sheriff and soon learns that there is more going on than first appears. Old similar cases, secrets from sister Faith, and teens with more knowledge than they admit will all lead Brenda on another adventure. Fearing human trafficking she calls in her partner and boyfriend to help. Going undercover with a group of swingers proves to be eye opening in more than one way. All this stemming from a decision her niece Madison made. This story is mysterious and keeps you guessing. There are layers of secrets and hidden truths. Its an edge of your seat mystery with a lot of erotic content thrown in. This book made me go back and read the first and I hope to read so much more from this author.
Bev

June 14, 2018

Brenda Corrino is asked by her sister to find her niece. Wait a minute! What sister? Brenda never knew she had a sister! Be that as it may, Brenda and her boyfriend/business partner Dr.Darren Crowe go to Arizona to help her sister. There Brenda befriends Deputy Sheriff Logan Cartwright. He explains that the same thing happened to a girl in another town five years ago. Can they find Brenda’s niece? What did Madison get her young self into? Of course Faith and her husband are not squeeky clean citizens themselves, so Brenda has to consider them until they can be cleared of any wrong doing. A real good story. Nice pace, wonder characters. I would read another book by this author. 
Kristina
5.0 out of 5 stars

June 13, 2018

👍 Up to Michael Altieri. This was a very good book.It was so hard to put my kindle down once I started reading. I have to give you 10 stars for this one.I hope to review more of your books in the very near future, keep me in mind Michael I love to read. I am definitely recommending this to everyone I know to read. It is sad to think of your child running away on her own to do something like that just because someone says ” hey you can earn $5 million in 5 years. ” That’s still a little kid. Thank God they were saved.
Derek Williams

June 12, 2018

A quick but powerful read. Brenda Corrino, a private investigator, gets drawn into a case by a half sister she never knew existed, a missing daughter. Full of twists and turns, Endangered Species will keep you in its grip from page one until the end. One word of warning, this book deals with human trafficking. It’s a subject we would like to forget but one that is very real. Definitely recommended.
Kayak Jay
An Investigation into a Missing Teenager with Many Surprises

June 14, 2018

A wild trip to the part of Arizona where I live. Familiarity with the places where the action takes place made the story special. The plot involves a search for a missing teenager, but that is secondary to a great amount of sex, depicted in various levels of detail. Strong elements of danger provide suspense as the PI tacks down the perpetrators with the help of a local sheriff. The sheriff was a sympathetic character as he seemed to be the only one not engaging in some form of wild sex.
Clau
A great, gritty mystery

June 2, 2018

A great, gritty mystery, that touch the very sensitive subject of human trafficking and does it right.

The dual POVs work well and help the reader to get under the skin of the characters. I particularly liked Brenda Corrino: smart and strong, and very, very human.

I found the book truly interesting, and a compelling read. I certainly will keep an eye on others books by this author.

Margie
The best

February 8, 2019

The author writes an excellent, well thought-out story, with characters feel very real to the reader. I recommend any of his books, knowing that you’ll enjoy them thoroughly. A pleasure to read.